Birthday Girl!

This past weekend we celebrated ShaSha’s 8th birthday. She shares a birthday with my brother. I am so glad he and his family were able to spend the weekend with us. Its always fun to have everyone together!

Friday evening we had a family cake. ShaSha’s favorite dessert is tiramisu. She’ll tell you that in a heartbeat. She will also tell you how much she doesn’t like icing. My brother will tell you how much he loves coffee… little did I know that he has decided not to consume caffeine anymore!

So, anyway, where was I? Oh, yeah, I made tiramisu cake. It does use a cake mix as its base, but at least its one without any colors. The icing and filling are absolutely delicious! So soft and tiramisu-like! We aren’t drinkers, so I substituted all of the liquer with extra strong coffee. Everyone licked their plates clean!

Tiramisu Layer Cake

Saturday we had an official party for Tabitha. She had some school friends over and we attempted a pirate theme. The kids had fun and everyone loved this watermelon shark my sister-in-law carved for us.

Watermelon Shark

Instead of a cake I decided to make these most delicious pumpkin chocolate chip muffins. They may not look as festive as a traditional cake, but all of the kids gobbled them up. We even had a few leftover for breakfast the next morning! If you have a can of pumpkin in your pantry, I urge you to try these. This is the 3rd or 4th time I’ve made them and I am never disappointed.

Pumpkin Chocolate Chip Muffins

We had a good time with pockets of yummy food. How did you spend your weekend?

This entry was posted in links. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Birthday Girl!

  1. sharizat says:

    happy birthday to your daughter and brother! that shark looks amazing!

Leave a Reply

