Butter Biscuits

Today is Wednesday. I haven’t been grocery shopping in over a week. I have no meat in the house and I’m not in the mood for beans. We ran out of bread already and I don’t have hours to wait for a new loaf. We even ran out of rice! What’s a girl to do for dinner?

For my needed carb, I settled on biscuits. The rest of the meal was simple enough: scrambled eggs and peas. I didn’t even have to coax the kids into eating their meals. ShaSha kept raving about how good the biscuits were.

Putting the biscuits together shouldn’t take any more than 15 minutes. Place all of the dry ingredients in a bowl and swirl them together with your clean, dry hands.

Next dice up the butter. Add it to your bowl. It should look something like this:

Now, I don’t own a pastry knife, but I’ve found that my hands do a perfectly good job of crumbling. They don’t even make my hands too messy:

We’re allowed to start using utensils now! Add a cup of milk and stir until combined. If its too sticky don’t be afraid to add a sprinkling of flour. If its too dry add a spoonful of milk.

When you’re done you should have a soft dough. Knead it for a couple of minutes on a lightly floured surface.

Today I didn’t even bother getting out the rolling pin or my biscuit cutter. I flattened my dough to about 3/4 to 1″ thickness. I rubbed some flour on the edge of this small juice cup and I went to town!

They came out about this thick:

I didn’t turn the oven on until after the biscuits were on the pizza pan. I let the dough rest for around 20 minutes while the oven preheated.

These biscuits were delicious with a pat of butter on them. They split right down the middle when you pull them apart. Let me know what you think of them!

Butter Biscuits

  • 2 cups all-purpose flour
  • 1 tbs baking powder
  • 1 tbs sugar
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp mustard powder
  • 1/3 cup cold unsalted butter
  • 1 cup milk

In a large bowl mix together flour, baking powder, sugar, salt and mustard powder. Roughly chop butter and add to flour mix. Cut mixture until it looks like coarse crumbs. Slowly add milk. Stir until a soft dough forms. (Add sprinkles of flour if its too sticky or a teaspoon of milk it its too dry).

Transfer dough to a floured surface and knead for two minutes. Flatten the dough with the palms of your hands to about 3/4 of an inch. Cut out 3 to 4 inch circles with a glass top or biscuit cutter. Place on ungreased cookie sheet.

Turn oven on to 425 degrees F (220 C). Allow the dough to rest on the cookie sheets while the oven is preheating (about 20 minutes). When they go into the oven bake for 13 to 15 minutes or until golden brown.

Makes 10 biscuits

This entry was posted in bread. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Butter Biscuits

  1. sharizat says:

    this sounds deliciously simple! i’ve never tried baking biscuits but have been a fan for many years!

Leave a Reply

